Money Apps for Kids Without a Debit Card (2026)
By Imri Shifman, Founder of Babalata. Published October 18, 2026. Updated October 18, 2026.
The short answer
Yes. Apps such as Penny Time, Homey, FamZoo's IOU accounts, KidBudget, Bomad and Digital Piggy Bank let parents keep the real money while the app records allowance, spending and savings goals. These "parent is the bank" apps fit families who want kids to practice saving and planning before they handle a payment card.
Key takeaways
- A no-card money app is a record, not a bank: the parent keeps the real money, and the app tracks what the child earned, spent and saved.
- Research from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), a US government agency, places allowance and saving decisions in ages 6 to 12 and debit or credit card use in the 13 to 21 stage, which is why many families start without a card.
- As checked on 18 October 2026, no-card options range from free (Penny Time, KidBudget, Bankaroo on the web) to about $7 a month (Homey's $6.99 monthly subscription), so confirm current prices before you sign up.
What is a money app for kids without a debit card?
A no-card money app is a record-keeper, not a bank. You, the parent, keep the real money: in your wallet, in a jar at home or in your own bank account. The app keeps a ledger, which simply means a running list of what your child has earned, spent and saved, so everyone can see the balance. Nothing is loaded onto a card, and the app does not hold the money.
These apps go by a few names. FamZoo calls its version IOU accounts, because they track money you owe your kids for allowance, chores or other credits without holding any real money 8. Bomad's name is short for Bank of Mom and Dad 19, and Digital Piggy Bank tells parents they are already the bank 21. Penny Time says it needs no bank account or ID and never holds or moves money 1.
Cash is still the most common way parents pay allowance. In a Wells Fargo survey, with data collected by Ipsos from 1,587 US parents between April 28 and May 8, 2025, 73% of parents who give a weekly allowance said they use cash. Among parents giving an allowance, 24% use peer-to-peer apps (apps that send money from one person to another) such as Zelle or Apple Pay, 20% use direct deposit to a bank account and 14% use a prepaid debit card. The shares add up to more than 100%, which suggests some parents use more than one method 30. A no-card app gives that cash a digital record.
Who are they for? The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), a US government agency that oversees consumer financial products and publishes youth financial education research, says financial habits really start to take shape in middle childhood, ages 6 to 12, when children begin to show habits such as planning and saving 2223. No-card apps tend to suit:
- Kids about 6 to 12 who are starting to plan and save 23.
- Families who want to try a money system before paying for a card plan.
- Parents who would rather keep every real dollar in their own hands.
- Families who are not eligible for a kids' card. FamZoo, for example, offers its IOU accounts to families who are not ready for cards or are not eligible for them, such as families outside the US 8.
Should my child have a debit card or a no-card app?
There is no single right age for a debit card. (A prepaid debit card for kids is a card loaded with money that a parent controls through an app.) The CFPB's youth research, published in 2016 24 and last updated on its website in December 2024 22, describes three building blocks of money skills: executive function, which means thinking skills such as planning ahead, focusing attention and remembering information; financial habits and norms, meaning everyday money routines and rules; and financial knowledge and decision-making skills 22.
The CFPB also recommends letting children learn from experience: hands-on choices, with guidance and time to reflect on how they turned out, repeated so the skills build over time 24. A card and a no-card app can both give that experience. The real question is which skills you want your child to practice next. Use this checklist.
- Readiness. Ask whether your child can already save toward a goal and stick to a plan. If not, practice that first with a jar or a ledger, and add a card later.
- Goal. If the goal is saving up and waiting, a jar or a ledger is enough. If the goal is learning to pay at a store or online, a card teaches that and a ledger does not.
- What you want them to practice. Making deliberate choices about how to spend, and comparing prices before buying, are CFPB suggestions for ages 6 to 12 25. You can practice both with cash.
- Who holds the money. With a no-card app, the balance is a promise from you, so you need to pay out or set cash aside. A prepaid card holds money that was loaded in advance. If you will not keep up with paying out, real cash in a jar may work better.
- Cost. As checked on 18 October 2026, Greenlight's card plans start at $5.99 a month 14, while Penny Time says it is free for the whole family 1 and Digital Piggy Bank costs $1 a month or $7.99 a year after a 14-day free trial 20.
- Paperwork. Card apps need a parent funding source. BusyKid's FAQ says a checking account, debit card or credit card must be used to fund it 16. No-card apps such as Penny Time and Digital Piggy Bank say they need no bank account 121.
Which money apps for kids work without a debit card?
We checked each app's own website or app store page on 18 October 2026. Apps are listed in no particular order, with the not-yet-released option last. Greenlight Level Up is included as a money game, not an allowance tracker. Prices change often, so confirm them before you sign up. Update dates come from each app's iPhone App Store version history where we could find one.
| App | What it is | Ages (as stated by the app) | Price (as stated, checked on 18 October 2026) | Debit card needed? | Notable features | Last app update or sign of activity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Penny Time (pennytime.app) | Money lessons built around a child's real allowance. Parents set the allowance and approve requests to cash out; the app never holds or moves money 12. | Best for ages 8 to 14 1 | Site says free for the whole family; App Store lists it as free with no in-app purchases shown 12 | No. No bank account or ID needed 12 | Short weekly decision moments using small allowance amounts; lessons on needs vs. wants, budgeting, opportunity cost, interest and goal setting 1 | iPhone version 4.28.0, released 24 September 2026 2 |
| Homey (homeyapp.net) | Chore chart and allowance tracker with saving jars and IOU tracking 34 | Not stated by the app; App Store rating 4+ 4; Common Sense Media's review of a 2019 version suggests 6+ 5 | Free download; subscriptions listed at $6.99 a month or $59.99 a year on the US App Store 4 | No card mentioned. Subscribers can connect a bank for US-only transfers, or mark allowance as paid in cash 4 | Recurring chores and paid jobs, per-child allowance, saving jars with goals, family chat 34 | iPhone version 6.2.8, released 29 January 2026 4 |
| Bankaroo (bankaroo.com) | Virtual bank for kids that does not hold or manage real funds 6 | Most members are 5 to 14 6 | Web version free 67; a one-time $5 mobile app was listed in 2021 7, but we could not find it on the US App Store on 18 October 2026 | No 6 | Savings goals with badges, allowance and recurring payments, parent savings matching, parent-set interest, a classroom edition 67 | Site footer shows 2011 to 2025 6; we found no recent app update |
| FamZoo IOU accounts (famzoo.com) | Family finance app whose IOU accounts track money parents owe kids without holding real money; prepaid cards are optional 89 | Not stated | $5.99 a month, or $59.90 paid up front for 12 months ($4.99 a month); same price for IOU-only families; 1-month free trial 910 | No for IOU accounts; cards are an optional add-on for eligible families 8 | One price per family; can mix IOU and card accounts or move to cards later 810 | Blog posts through September 2026; site copyright 2006 to 2026 89 |
| Greenlight Level Up (greenlight.com) | A money game, not an allowance tracker: a financial literacy game inside the Greenlight app 13 | Kids and teens (no specific ages given) 13 | Greenlight says the game does not require a Greenlight prepaid debit card plan subscription 13; a Greenlight partner page calls it free for everyone 12. Greenlight's card plans start at $5.99 a month 14 | Not for the game, per Greenlight, but it requires downloading the Greenlight app and accepting the Level Up Program Terms 13. All paid Greenlight plans include debit cards 14 | Short challenges with rewards and badges 15 | Promoted on Greenlight's site, which shows a 2026 copyright 13 |
| KidBudget (Allowance Tracker, iPhone) | Allowance ledger: parents record deposits and withdrawals for each child 17 | Made for ages 9 to 11 (App Store) 17 | Free; no in-app purchases listed 17 | No card mentioned in the listing 17 | Parent-set interest on savings, savings goals, several kids on one dashboard, automations 17 | Version 2.4.0, released 30 November 2025 17 |
| Bomad (bomad.app) | Virtual piggy bank and allowance tracker; parents keep the money and track it in the app 1819 | Not stated (App Store rating 4+) 18 | Free download; in-app purchases listed from $2.99 to $29.99, including monthly and yearly subscriber tiers 18 | No. Older kids can request transfers to real bank accounts to spend with their own debit cards 18 | Scheduled allowance, savings goals, expense claims, a kids' app on their own devices, balance history charts 1819 | iPhone version 2.0.266, released 26 January 2026; 571 ratings averaging 4.8 out of 5 18 |
| Digital Piggy Bank (digitalpiggybank.com) | Simple family ledger for allowance and chores 2021 | Not stated; aimed at kids too young for bank accounts 20 | 14-day free trial, then $1 a month or $7.99 a year; the yearly price covers the whole family 2021 | No 21 | Save, Spend and Give buckets; check balances from anywhere; kids' logins and savings goals listed as in design 2021 | Site copyright 2026 20 |
| Babalata (babalata.com) | Money-habits app for US families: kids set savings goals and practice short Money Gym lessons; the app does not hold, move or transfer money | 6 to 18 | Price not announced | No. No debit card and no bank account | Savings goals with progress, streaks, in-app coins and badges (not money), family and group goals; for parents, a weekly family report, a money-promise tracker, allowance tracking and assigned lessons | Launching soon on iOS and Android, United States only; not yet available to download |
Which popular kids' money apps were left out, and why?
BusyKid: we could not confirm a mode that works without its card. Its FAQ says each family subscription comes with one card and that parents must fund the account with a checking account, debit card or credit card. Cards are chosen per child, but the FAQ does not describe a plan without any card or funding source 16, so it is not in the table.
Greenlight's main app: all four Greenlight plans, from Core at $5.99 a month to Family Shield at $19.98 a month, include debit cards for up to five kids (checked on 18 October 2026) 14. Only the Level Up game is listed as not requiring a card plan 13.
Which no-card app fits your family best?
Each app suits a different kind of family. Here is when each one may fit yours, based on what each app says it offers:
- Penny Time: you want an app you can download today at no cost, built around small allowance decisions for ages 8 to 14 12.
- Homey: chores are the center of your family system, or you want optional US bank transfers alongside saving jars 4.
- Bankaroo: you want a free ledger that runs in a web browser, or a version your child's teacher can use in class 67.
- FamZoo IOU accounts: you want to start without cards and add prepaid cards later in the same app, for one family price 810.
- Greenlight Level Up: your family already uses Greenlight, or your child wants game-style money challenges 1315.
- KidBudget: you want a simple free iPhone ledger with parent-set interest on savings 17.
- Bomad: you want a ledger with a kids' app on their own devices, and a way for older kids to request transfers to real bank accounts 1819.
- Digital Piggy Bank: you want a low-cost family ledger with Save, Spend and Give buckets 2021.
How do you run a no-card money system at home?
You do not need an app to start. Three simple tools cover most of it: cash jars, an IOU ledger and savings matching, each explained below. A short weekly routine keeps any of them working:
- Pick a payday. Pay allowance on the same day each week, in cash or as a ledger entry your child can see.
- Sort it right away. Before any spending, have your child split the new money between jars or ledger lines, such as Spend, Save and Share.
- Think out loud during the week. When you make your own money choices, explain what you chose and why. The CFPB suggests this for ages 6 to 12, so your child hears what you are doing and why 25.
- Hold a short check-in. Look at the balances together, and talk about what your child bought or saved and how it worked out.
How do I set up cash jars for my kids?
For young children, the CFPB suggests finding a jar or can, labeling it for saving, and encouraging your child to put some of the money they get into it, so they can buy a toy or treat once they have saved enough 28. For a fuller system, the U.S. Mint's Spend, Save, or Share activity is designed for 1st grade and up and takes about 30 minutes 29.
- Gather three containers and label them Spend, Save and Share 29.
- Help your child decide on goals for the money, then sort the money into the containers 29.
- Keep adding to the containers as more money comes in 29.
- When a goal is reached, spend or share that money, then set a new goal 29.
- For ages 6 to 12, the CFPB suggests setting aside about a tenth of any money your child receives and having them draw, chart or tell a story about their progress 26.
How do I keep an IOU ledger that stays fair?
An IOU ledger is a written or in-app list of money you owe your child. FamZoo's blog puts the difference plainly: prepaid card accounts hold real money, and IOU accounts do not 11. That makes the ledger only as good as your follow-through.
- Write every entry down with your child watching, so the balance is never a surprise.
- Back the balance with real money. Pay out on a set schedule, or set the matching cash aside. FamZoo's blog warns that savings can seem to vanish when no real money was set aside, leaving the parent with an unexpected debt to the child 11.
- Use the ledger for loans too. FamZoo describes recording a loan to your child as a negative balance that moves toward zero as they repay it 11.
- Decide together what counts as extra money in your family and how your child can earn it 27.
- Keep talking. The CFPB says the most important part of an allowance, for a child's development, is the conversation with you about plans for the money 27.
Should I match my child's savings?
Matching means you add money on top of what your child saves, much like an employer match on a retirement plan. The CFPB gives a simple example for ages 6 to 12: put in 25 cents for every dollar your child saves 26. Some ledger apps build this in. Bankaroo lists savings matching and parent-set interest 6, and KidBudget lets parents set an interest rate on savings 17.
- Set the rule before the first deposit: how much you match and whether there is a cap.
- Match only money that stays saved toward the goal, so the match rewards waiting.
- Add the match to the same jar or ledger line so your child can watch the total grow. The CFPB suggests looking together at how much bigger the balance gets over time 26.
Where Babalata fits
Babalata is a money-habits app for US families with kids ages 6 to 18. It is launching soon on iOS and Android in the United States only. It is not available to download yet, and its price has not been announced. Babalata has no debit card and no bank account. It does not hold, move or transfer money: parents keep the real money, and the app records allowance, deposits and savings goals that people enter themselves.
Kids set savings goals and see their progress, keep streaks, earn in-app coins and badges (which are not money), and can save together in family or group goals. They also practice short Money Gym lessons built on a behavior model with four areas (Awareness, Impulse, Emotion and Future) and three skills (Notice, Pause and Build).
Parents connect to their child's account. Children under 13 need a parent's approval, given on the parent's own device, before they can use the app. Parents also get a weekly family report built from the week's activity counts, with conversation starters, plus a tracker for money promises they make to their kids, allowance tracking and the option to assign lessons. The app has no ads and no analytics or tracking code, and unused accounts are deleted after 24 months without a sign-in.
Questions parents ask
Can my child save money in an app without a bank account?
Yes. No-card apps are ledgers: you keep the real money, and the app records what your child earned, spent and saved. FamZoo's IOU accounts, for example, track money you owe your kids without holding real money 8, and Penny Time says it needs no bank account 1.
Are money apps for kids without a debit card free?
Some are. As checked on 18 October 2026, Penny Time says it is free for the whole family 1, KidBudget is listed as free on the App Store 17, and Bankaroo's web version is free 67. Others charge: FamZoo costs $5.99 a month for the whole family 9, Homey lists subscriptions at $6.99 a month or $59.99 a year 4, and Digital Piggy Bank costs $1 a month or $7.99 a year after a 14-day trial 2021.
What age should a child get a debit card?
There is no official age. The CFPB lists deciding how to spend an allowance and depositing money into savings as tasks for ages 6 to 12, and using debit and credit cards as a milestone in its 13 to 21 stage 23. You can start with jars or a ledger and add a card later. FamZoo, for example, lets families start with IOU accounts and add prepaid cards in the same app 8.
What is an IOU account for kids?
It is a record of money a parent owes a child, for allowance, chores or other credits, with no real money inside. FamZoo uses the term for its no-card accounts 8. Its blog warns that savings can seem to vanish if no real money was ever set aside, so pay out or set cash aside on a schedule 11.
How much allowance do parents give?
In a Wells Fargo survey of 1,587 US parents in spring 2025, with data collected by Ipsos, 71% of parents with children ages 5 to 17 said they give an allowance, averaging $37 a week 30. That is one survey's average, not a recommendation.
Is Greenlight Level Up free without the debit card?
Greenlight says Level Up does not require a subscription to a Greenlight prepaid debit card plan, but it does require downloading the Greenlight app and accepting the Level Up Program Terms 13. A Greenlight partner page describes it as free for everyone; that page's fine print also mentions identity verification and a first monthly fee billed after registration, and it does not make clear which terms apply to the game alone 12. Check whether sign-up asks for payment details (checked on 18 October 2026).
Should I pay my child interest on their savings?
It is optional, and the money comes from you. Some ledgers support it: KidBudget lets parents set an interest rate 17, and Bankaroo lists interest and savings matching 6. The CFPB gives a simple matching example: 25 cents for every dollar your child saves 26.
About Babalata
Babalata is a money-habits app for US families with kids ages 6 to 18: kids set savings goals and practice short Money Gym lessons with Babuddy, Babalata's money coach character, while parents keep the real money (no debit card, no bank account) and get a weekly family report with conversation starters.
Launching soon on iOS and Android, in the United States only.
Get early accessSources
- Penny Time: financial literacy app for kids (homepage), Penny Time (Employee Of The Month S.L.), Undated page, copyright 2026; checked 2026-10-18. Ages 8 to 14, free for the whole family, no bank accounts or IDs needed, app never holds or moves money.
- Penny Time - Finance education (US App Store listing), Apple App Store, Latest version 4.28.0 dated Sep 24 (2026, inferred); checked 2026-10-18. Free, no in-app purchases shown, rated 9+, no bank accounts or debit cards.
- Homey: chores and allowance (homepage), HomeyLabs Inc., Undated page, copyright 2017; checked 2026-10-18. Chores, paid jobs, allowance, savings goals, family chat. No ages or prices on the homepage.
- Homey - Chores and Allowance (US App Store listing and version history), Apple App Store, Latest version 6.2.8 dated Jan 29 (2026, inferred); checked 2026-10-18. Rated 4+. Homey Monthly $6.99, Homey Yearly $59.99 (also lists Homey Premium $4.99, Homey Unlimited $6.99 and chore packs); saving jars, IOU tracking, US-only bank transfers or paid-in-cash option.
- Homey - Chores and Allowance app review, Common Sense Media, Undated review (reviewed version last updated 2019-06-19); checked 2026-10-18. Suggests 6+. The review covers a 2019 version; used only for the age guidance.
- Bankaroo: virtual bank for kids (homepage and FAQ), Rodgers Finance LLC, Undated page, copyright 2011 to 2025; checked 2026-10-18. Most members 5 to 14; does not hold or manage real funds; free as a web and mobile-web service; savings matching and interest. No native app price given; some FAQ answers are placeholders.
- Bankaroo for schools pricing update, Bankaroo, Pricing effective September 2021; checked 2026-10-18. Family edition: web free, mobile app one-time $5 for up to 6 kids. The US App Store listing for the Bankaroo iPhone app returned not found on 18 October 2026.
- FamZoo IOU Accounts, FamZoo, Inc., Undated page, copyright 2006 to 2026, blog archive through September 2026; checked 2026-10-18. IOU accounts track money owed to kids and do not hold real money; no card required; option for families not eligible for cards.
- FamZoo homepage, FamZoo, Inc., Undated page, copyright 2006 to 2026; checked 2026-10-18. $5.99 a month with 1-month free trial; prepay $59.90 for 12 months ($4.99 a month); fees per family.
- FamZoo FAQs, FamZoo, Inc., Undated page; checked 2026-10-18. Subscription pricing is the same for IOU accounts, prepaid cards or a mix.
- What's the Difference Between Prepaid Card Accounts and IOU Accounts?, FamZoo Family Finance Blog (Bill Dwight), 2020-08-15. IOU accounts hold promises, not money; savings can seem to disappear and an unanticipated debt to the child can build up; loans recorded as negative balances.
- Greenlight Level Up: free financial literacy game, Greenlight (Life360 partner page), Undated page, copyright 2026; checked 2026-10-18. Partner page labeled 'Paid non-client endorsement'. Calls Level Up free for everyone; fine print also mentions new customers only, identity verification, minimum load requirements and a first monthly fee billed seven days after registration.
- Level Up Financial Literacy Game for Kids and Teens, Greenlight, Undated page, copyright 2026; checked 2026-10-18. Footnote: requires downloading the Greenlight app and accepting the Level Up Program Terms; does not require subscription to a Greenlight prepaid debit card plan. Audience: kids and teens. The page does not call the game free.
- Greenlight plans, Greenlight, Undated page, copyright 2026; checked 2026-10-18. Core $5.99, Max $10.98, Infinity $15.98, Family Shield $19.98 a month; all include debit cards for up to 5 kids.
- Unlock money confidence for life with Level Up (case study), Greenlight, 2023-01-06 (last updated). Describes short challenges, rewards and badges. Older page says kids on all Greenlight plans can play.
- BusyKid FAQ, BusyKid, Undated page; checked 2026-10-18. Each family subscription comes with one card; parents check the box for the kids who should get cards; a checking account, debit or credit card must be used as funding source. No plan without a card described.
- KidBudget - Allowance Tracker (US App Store listing), Apple App Store (developer Gefiendra LTD), Latest version 2.4.0 dated 2025-11-30; checked 2026-10-18. Free, no in-app purchases listed, made for ages 9 to 11, parent-set interest, savings goals.
- Piggy Bank Kids - Bomad (US App Store listing and version history), Apple App Store (developer Graeme Pyle), Latest version 2.0.266 dated Jan 26 (2026, inferred); checked 2026-10-18. Parents keep the money and track it; older kids can request transfers to real bank accounts; in-app purchases listed from $2.99 to $29.99 (subscriber monthly and yearly tiers, plus Pro tiers at $2.99 and $3.99 with no period stated); rated 4+; 571 ratings, 4.8 average.
- Bomad: kids money tracker app (homepage), Bomad.app, Undated page, copyright 2022 to today; checked 2026-10-18. Bank of Mom and Dad; virtual accounts, allowance scheduling, savings goals, expense claims, kids' devices.
- Digital Piggy Bank: allowance tracker (homepage), Digital Piggy Bank, Undated page, copyright 2026; checked 2026-10-18. $1 a month or $7.99 a year, 14-day free trial (does not say per family); balances visible from anywhere; roadmap lists kids' logins and savings goals as in design.
- Features: Digital Piggy Bank Allowance Tracker, Digital Piggy Bank, Undated page, copyright 2026; checked 2026-10-18. $7.99 a year after a 14-day trial, for the whole family; parent is already the bank; no debit card, minor account or bank account; Save, Spend, Give buckets.
- Learn about the building blocks of financial capability, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2024-12-12 (last modified). Three building blocks; age stages 3 to 5, 6 to 12 and 13 to 21; financial habits and norms really start to take shape in middle childhood.
- Financial habits and norms, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2024-12-12 (last modified). Middle childhood: begins to show habits like planning and saving; deciding how to spend allowance, depositing in savings. Adolescence: using debit and credit cards.
- Four strategies to help youth achieve financial capability, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (Sunaena Lehil), 2016-09-07. Recommends direct, hands-on experience with guidance, opportunities for reflection and repeated practice.
- Money as You Grow: school-age children to preteens, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2026-06-26 (last modified). Think out loud; make choices about how to spend your money; compare prices and features before buying.
- Money as You Grow: explore saving (school-age children to preteens), Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2024-12-12 (last modified). Save about a tenth; chart progress; match 25 cents for every dollar saved; watch the balance grow.
- Money as You Grow: explore earning (school-age children to preteens), Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2024-12-12 (last modified). Most important part of an allowance is talking about plans for the money; define extra money and how to earn it.
- Money as You Grow: explore saving (young children), Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2024-12-12 (last modified). Label a jar or can for saving so a child can buy a toy or treat once they have enough.
- Spend, Save, or Share (coin activity), United States Mint, Undated page, copyright 2025; checked 2026-10-18. Three labeled containers; decide on goals for the money; organize money in each container; keep filling each container as more money comes in; grade 1 and up; about 30 minutes.
- New Wells Fargo Study Shows Parents Give Their Kids an Average Weekly Allowance of $37, Wells Fargo Newsroom, 2025-07-02. Wells Fargo survey with data collection by Ipsos, 1,587 US parents, April 28 to May 8, 2025: 71% give allowance, $37 weekly average; 73% of parents who give a weekly allowance use cash; of parents giving an allowance, 24% use peer-to-peer payments, 20% direct deposit, 14% prepaid debit card.
